Clubs - Curricular

  •  

     

    American Sign Language

    Sponsor: Danita.Ayala@southlakecarroll.edu                                           

    Meeting Time/Place: Meetings will be organized through the class environment.

    Club Description/Membership: Enrich the learning of ASL through the interaction with the deaf community, peers, and teachers using activities such as silent dinners, presentations and deaf chat.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Art Club

    Sponsor: Pam.Roanhaus@southlakecarroll.edu Christine.Roberts@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: The first and third Tuesday of each month from 3:30-4:30pm (or later) in A118 or A116.

    Club Description/Membership: Explore and create with a variety of art materials in order to expand knowledge and connections between fellow artists.

    When Students Can Join: All CHS and CSHS students can join at any time.

     


    Best Buddies

    Sponsor: Heather.Bland@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: Varies, but usually once a month.

    Club Description/Membership: Best Buddies empowers youth to become advocates for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. We will focus on inclusive events and friendships. Everyone is welcome to join!

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Book Club

    Sponsor: Heather.Loomis@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: Varies, but usually twice a month after school.

    Club Description/Membership: Anyone who loves to read and discuss books.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Business Professionals or America and DECA

    Sponsor: Kimberly.Goodman@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: Monthly Wednesday meetings, plus other times as needed to prepare for competition.

    Club Description/Membership: BPA is a Career and Technical Student Organization open to all CSHS and CHS students that have desires to develop leadership, academic, and technological skills through competitions at a regional, state and national level. $68.00 for those that want to compete.  $30 for those that do not want to compete.

    When Students Can Join: Deadline for competing members is November 1st.

     


    Creative Writing

    Sponsor: Jennifer.Abell@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: The last Wednesday of each month in Room A108.

    Club Description/Membership: Any 9-12 student who is interested in writing is welcome.  Students do not have to be in Creative Writing in order to be in the club!

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Engineering Club

    Sponsor: Steven.Nathman@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: Every Wednesday after school in Room B319.

    Club Description/Membership: Students interested in pursuing interests in projects related to engineering, science and math.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    FPV Drone Racing

    Sponsor: Steven.Nathman@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: Every Wednesday after school in Room B319.

    Club Description/Membership: In First Person View (FPV) Drone racing, you see what the drone sees.  The goal is to have students race each other on inside/outside courses designed by students.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.  May fly your own drone, or use the ones we get from grants each year.

     


    French Club

    Sponsor: Lyndee.Hayes@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: The fourth Wednesday of each month after school in Room D111. Officers meet on the first Wednesday of each month.

    Club Description/Membership: Any 9th or 10th grade student who wants to speak French and build new relationships. Dues are $10.00.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Freshmen Class Council

    Sponsor: Elinor.Cottingham@southlakecarroll.edu &

                      Lizz.Dean@southlakecarroll.edu  

    Meeting Time/Place: Once a month before school in Room C206.

    Club Description/Membership: The Class council represents the freshmen class in activities such as Homecoming and class activities, and they work on fundraising projects for the class senior prom.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Latin Club

    Sponsor: Amanda.Richards@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: Every Wednesday after school in Room E105.

    Club Description/Membership: Latin club us a club that celebrates and explores Roman history and culture.  It is a chapter of the Texas State Junior Classical League.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join for the first month of the school year.

     


    Mandarin Chinese Club

    Sponsor: Yushin.Lee@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: The second or third Wednesday of each month in Room E109.

    Club Description/Membership: Any CHS/CSHS student who wants to speak Mandarin and interested in Chinese culture. Dues are $15.00.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Sophomore Class Council

    Sponsor: Wendy.Starkey@southlakecarroll.edu &

                      Lisa.Jackson@southlakecarroll.edu        

    Meeting Time/Place: The first Wednesday of each month after school.

    Club Description/Membership: The Class council represents the sophomore class in activities such as Homecoming and class activities, and they work on fundraising projects for the class senior prom.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Spanish Club

    Sponsor: Heidy.Castroman@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: The second Wednesday of each month in Room E111.

    Club Description/Membership: All 9th or 10th grade students may join.  The club incorporates Hispanic culture and encourages using Spanish language during the social activities. Dues are $10.00.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.

     


    Student Council

    Sponsor: Sarah.Millhorn@southlakecarroll.edu

    Meeting Time/Place: General Assembly meetings are every “A” Day during lunch in Room C218.

    Club Description/Membership: Contact Ms. Richards for information.

    When Students Can Join: Students can join at any time.